2020 Trends: Will you be able to beat these 2 advertising behemoths?
More often than not, we take the time to talk about specific social platforms and the tools and strategies available to make the most out of them.
Today, we’re taking a more holistic dive into the world of marketing and doing a ground-level inspection of what to expect in 2020.
Ad budgets are expected to hit the roof with an estimated spend of $390B in the US alone. Main contributors? Upcoming elections in the US and Summer Olympics in Tokyo clashing in the same year.
As per this study by specialist management consultancy Winterberry Group, the two main events of 2020 are expected to boost offline spending to $233B, accounting for 57% of the overall spend.
Biggest offline gainers? Addressable TV, Linear TV & experiential.
Biggest offline losers? Magazines, Newspapers & Radio.
Meanwhile, online advertising is expected to grow by 14.5% to $166B.
Biggest online gainers? Influencers, digital video (OTT), social media. Search remains the largest category, predicted to grow 11.2% to $61B.
Macro-trends for 2020? Continued shift of consumers valuing experiences over goods.
According to the study, the most important attributes to build brand trust were reliability (40%), relevance (32%) and credibility (29%).
Online reviews will continue to shape consumer purchasing decisions, with over 93% admitting that reviews impact their purchase decisions.
As far as influencers are concerned, real influence is shifting from celebs to local. 85% of consumers trust family and friends most for product recommendations.
With machine-learning gaining a lot of ground, Analytics & Insights are going to be more critical than ever for businesses. In fact, there are 280k positions open for data analysts on LinkedIn right now.
Check out the Adweek post for a look back at 2019 and some more juicy stats from the industry.
Such a unique, new player in the search market
Over the last few years, Google has received a lot of flak over its continued layout changes for Search, as well as ongoing privacy and tracking issues. Meanwhile, Bing has never been able to dominate the market.
DuckDuckGo, which also serves contextual search ads that do not rely on cookies, has increased in popularity over the years
+ What does this mean? There’s scope for a new player to enter the market and test similar ideas.
+ Who is the new player? Verizon.
+ What’s its search engine called? OneSearch.
It will serve results powered by Bing and run contextual ads rather than behaviorally targeted ads that rely on cookies.
Search terms are encrypted and Search URLs are also built using those encrypted terms. The encryption key expires after one hour, which will stop/reduce third parties from accessing search history via the browser history after the one-hour period.
Here’s something interesting about this privacy focused Search Engine: Its Advanced Privacy Mode, which is enabled by default, must be turned on to encrypt search terms and expire search history links.
Then why even have an option to turn it off? You see where this is heading in the long term, right? Yep, back to the situation we’re in right now.
Anyway, OneSearch will need to differentiate itself and stand out if it plans to overtake similar competitors such as DuckDuckGo, let alone the more mainstream search engines.
✋ Own an email list? MVP will generate passive revs for you. Already worked with 200+ marketers!
MailValueProfits has been doing this for over 15 years: Monetize the hell out of their partners’ lists. If you own an email list, these guys have a proposal for you that will make the 4-hour work-week look like working in the mines.
With MVP you’ll gain a solid partner that will be happy to take the nasty job from you. Just share your list with them and they will commit to bringing more benjis out of it.
It’s super simple. You supply MVP your email database. They set up and run a test in order to see what results they can get. If you like the results, they’ll go on. Your task? Watch Netflix and chill.
And to cut down your objections, they have some numbers as proof of their skills:
- More than 20k emails sent.
- 100M unique email addresses managed.
- 15+ years experience in the game.
- Currently managing the lists of over 200 partners worldwide.
- Dating vertical Experts with a large dating email inventory.
Yeah, over 200 marketers are already enjoying MVP’s services. And here are more details:
- Hands-down partnership: All you need is to do is supply them your email list(s).
- Transparency: All available stats and data accessible in real-time.
- Advanced automation: They rely on HasOffers as a tracking solution.
- Revenue-share model: This means the more they make the more you make. A good trick to have them squeeze their marketing brain for you, uh?
Don’t forget to check some very basic requirements for MVP managed email addresses though:
- IP or a country.
So, stop crafting email sequences and pieces of content, start partnering with MailValueProfits, and just enjoy the beauty of owning an asset that generates passive revs.
And if you want to have a face-to-face meeting, they’ll exhibit at the Mailcon (Table 174) and Affiliate Summit West in Las Vegas (Meet Market Table 1504), from the 26th to the 29th January! Contact Kamil at [email protected] (skype / email) to set up a meeting!
PS: If you are an advertiser you can now also purchase top quality CPC traffic from MVP!
Where the forgotten “Reach” objective can actually be useful
When you focus on the performance of your campaigns, on the ROAS, you generally go for the Conversion objective, right?
Sure, you might use some Video Views campaigns to warm up the audience depending on your product, but the majority of your FB Ads spend will be focused on conversions. That’s fine, but there are situations in which using other objectives could bring us higher ROAS. This is one of them.
Charlie Lawrence reminds us where Reach can actually be the way to go. First off, this should be used for retargeting hot audiences, such as 3-day website visitors. What are the pros of it?
- You can reach more people in an audience because it prevents FB from optimizing and narrowing your audience size.
- It slows down ad fatigue because you can set a frequency cap.
- The audience is constantly refreshed (though, this can happen using objectives as well, of course).
A simple example is to use a 3-day website visitor audience that is at least 1500 in size. So, you need at least 500 unique visitors per day. This means it’s not for websites with low traffic. You should certainly exclude past purchasers from the audience as well.
Bonus tip: If you have enough visitors for each product page, you can segment and create an audience for each product. Then you can run a Reach campaign for each audience. Great for big e-commerce stores!
Budget? The rule-of-thumb suggested by Charlie is to round down your audience size to the nearest thousand and divide by 1k. Multiply this result by your current CPM and that’s your daily budget.
For example, for an audience of 2.5k, you round down to 2k and divide by 1k to get 2. If your CPM is usually $20, your daily budget will be 2x$20=$40/day.
Now, when setting up your campaign you also have to decide if you want a more aggressive frequency, like 1 per day for a total of 3 impressions per users. Or, you can set a frequency of 1 per 3 days, which means each user sees your ad only once for the duration of the campaign.
What ad types to use with this? Reminders, Testimonials and Messenger. You should not use automatic placements, keep those known to be higher quality like FB and Instagram Feeds and Stories.
If you have a reasonably sized hot audience, this seems like a no-brainer to try out. You can probably leave it on autopilot since the audience refreshes so often that ad fatigue is almost a non-issue. Have a look at the full tutorial by Charles right here.
- PINTEREST: Taking more steps to show how much impact the platform has for advertisers, Pinterest has partnered with IRI to measure offline sales lift.
- INSTAGRAM: The FB owned app will give up on that annoying IGTV download button in the main IG app after only 7M people downloaded it.
- MARKETING: Aiden Spaulding shares a detailed structure for his e-com and lead-gen funnels, segments and email sequences. Check out the image here.
- AMAZON: If you are carrying your hand, you should be able to make a payment to Amazon without a card or a phone.
- SEO: Drive more people to your website using user intent to brainstorm new product features and deploying them in a SEO-friendly manner.
- CONTENT: Moz shares 5 simple ways you can use content-factory Reddit to generate more ideas for your websites and marketing efforts.
Why is Europe like a frying pan?
You can find the solution by clicking here.
Cool tech, (funny) business, lifestyle and all the other things affiliates like to chat about while sipping cocktails by the pool.
This guy is a different breed of “fashion influencer”
Meet Sam Barsky. He makes his own clothes. Or at least his own sweaters. These aren’t just any sweaters – he knits sweaters of landmarks.
Stonehenge, Tower Bridge, the Golden Gate Bridge, Niagara Falls. He does it all. He then visits the landmarks, snaps a pic and posts it on his social media. You can check out some of his work from his FB cover.
This is a nice change of pace from your run-of-the-mill fashion influencer. Not only that, but he also teaches knitting, so if you are looking for a new hobby maybe Sam can help you out.
There are other media outlets that covered his story before, but we only recently came across his stuff. We thought it’s just too good not to share.
Before you just chuckle at it and move on, you should know how much Sam charges for an appearance… Any guesses? $10k for USA or Canada and $25k for anywhere else in the world. Not a bad appearance fee, is it?